Healthy Habits in the Workplace

Most of us know exercise and good nutrition are essential for optimal productivity in the workplace. But, a new study that will be published in the journal Population Health Management further shows that eating unhealthily is linked with a 66 percent increased risk of loss of productivity, while rare exercise is linked with a 50 percent increased risk of low productivity.

Having worked in a corporate setting, I can tell you it’s not easy to take breaks, get up and walk, and remember to eat a healthy diet, even as an RD! However, I can tell you that there is increased activity in the brain if we do make a point to get up from our computers and walk around. I was inspired to write this posting after quitting my corporate job, which was a corporate wellness job by the way, in order to give you guys some ideas of how to keep your work environment a healthy one.

1) Take Exercise Breaks- It’s important to get up from your desk every few hours. If it’s nice out, I’ll schedule a lunchtime walk outside. It really re-energizes you.

2) Pack Healthy Snacks-Because I am often rushing around with clients and don’t have time to sit down and eat for more than 10 minutes, I always pack quick healthy snacks and meals. I keep nuts and fruit in my bag plus the occasional granola bar to keep me going throughout the afternoon and to keep my mind sharp and energy high. If I am really craving something sweet in the afternoon, I opt for a small piece of chocolate.

3) Exercise Before Work- Exercise keeps me sane I swear! I feel that I am so much more focused and energized if I exercise before I start my day at work. Plus, it helps set the tone for the day and allows me to better cope with unexpected challenges or stressors.

4) Water Bottle on Hand-One of the most plentiful resources in the office is usually underutilized- water! It helps to keep me hydrated and focused. When I used to work in the corporate setting,  I would get up every hour to grab a cup of water. Not only is water good for us, but it makes sure we get up and move. If using the bathroom every other hour isn’t your thing though, keep a water bottle on hand. I always keep one readily available (I like the life factory water bottles), so that I at least have a reminder in front of me.

5) Keep the office space clutter free- It’s so important to me that I have a clean office for clients. It also helps keep the stress at bay and ensures I can focus on my work. If you need a clutter-free, comfortable place after work to get things done and focus, I recommend checking out WeWork. WeWork is a co-working company that builds really neat shared office spaces equipped with water, lounges, coffee, internet, phone booths, event space, and conference rooms.

I would love to hear from you about what you do to keep your work day a healthy one!

Leave a Reply

