Homemade Low cal Paleo Pasta!

Happy Almost-Monday!

This weekend was a complete whirlwind and diet disaster for me. Saturday I attended Reebok’s Fitness Instructor networking event, complete with brunch, mimosas, and one sweaty kick-butt workout. Elspeth Polt flew in to teach the class, which consisted of a 45 min circuit training workout! The class completed plank-ups, burpees, lunges, jumps, and reverse-crunches to name a few. I don’t think any of us expected to sweat as much as we did. Not having had any time before to grab something to eat, I nonetheless was tempted by the assortment of bagels, potatoes, quiche, and fresh fruit. Ugh- major downfall!  The class was intense and I was craving something starchy, but definitely knew I should have eaten a little something before the class to prevent that. Bai, Hint, and Motto were also kind enough to provide refreshments for the event, which helped us all cool down and wash down our bagels and quiche 🙂 I adore healthy thirst-quenching beverages.

Image

Post-class, I was invited to brunch with a good friend at L’Andana, out in Burlington, MA. L’Andana is quite similar to Sorrelina and Mistral and Boston, but resembles an old-school Tuscan farmhouse that is luxurious and warm. The restaurant was serving light fare to the public, and a huge fan of Mistral, I could not pass up the opportunity. We arrived around 130pm to a room full of people!  L’Andana fortunately has a large space as they primarily serve as a wedding venue, because boy was it packed! The lines moved quickly though and we were soon greeted with smells of their famous pasta bolognese, steak tips, caesar salad, and charcuterie and crudités. If you ever make it up to Burlington, stop by this place and PLEASE order the bolognese. I never eat pasta ( and I’ll talk about that more below), but their bolognese is the best I’ve ever had.

ImageImage

L’Andana does offer gluten free options and has quite the selection of wood-fire dmeats and fishes. The prices are a little on the steep side, and needless to say we were the youngest ones there, but the dining is meant to be upscale, decadent, and unsurpassed.

Naturally, I tried everything, with a glass of prosecco, and of course left feeling fuller than full and even more guilty than my morning fare left me. It was a lovely meal though and a perfect way to spend the afternoon.

Attempting to make up for the larger part of the day, and be healthy and “good,” I decided it was time to make one of my favorite meals: Spaghetti squash pasta! My inspiration actually came from my mom because she makes a delectable squash with heavy cream and butter. Not wanting to go that route with my squash, I chose to season it with pasta sauce, shrimp, and mushrooms, with a side of broccolini. It’s real simple to make and low calorie! I add in a touch of salt, pepper, and olive oil, and you have one of my favorite dinners! Spaghetti squash “pasta,” is such a great alternative to regular pasta, is loaded with nutrients and provides about 42 calories and 10 grams of carbohydrates not to mention fiber. I love recommending it to those looking to watch their weight but still need their “pasta and sauce.”

Image

So have you ever tried spaghetti squash?  If so, how do you like to season it?

2 thoughts on “Homemade Low cal Paleo Pasta!

    • Oh wow This looks really good! I want to give it a try! And yes omg I am too haha it was intense! thanks for coming again 🙂 I am sorry the turnout wasn’t better. Glutenfreeboston girl and myself will be putting together an official blogger fitness event soon! Likely for early april 🙂

Leave a Reply

