Why I Crossfit

Copied from Julie Bauer “Creating My crossfit” but think it captures my thoughts and emotions perfectly

CrossFit is many things. It’s amazing, it’s upsetting, it’s frustrating, and it’s uplifting. Every day is different, which is probably what keeps us coming back for more. One day we are beating ourselves up for not getting a PR, then the next, we can’t stop smiling from our new Fran time. CrossFit is a lot of things, but mostly it’s an emotional roller coaster.

CrossFit is not always uplifting and amazing. It’s f*cking frustrating. It’s sometimes like being in an amusement park for 8 hours straight: the excitement is lost, the adrenaline is used up, going through the motions takes over. The overwhelming excitement for being on this thrill ride roller coaster has become dull. Maybe that’s because we’re sore and achy. Maybe because we feel we’re not improving. Or maybe because we no longer feel that drive that kept us coming back in the beginning. No matter why we feel this way, we have to find out how to change it.

I started CrossFit because I wanted to do it. Not for anyone else, not to prove anything else to anyone, and not to make anyone else happy. I did it because CrossFit made me feel like a better person. It gave me a reason for living. And it gave me happiness. Every workout I did, I worked my butt off to become stronger than the day before, and went on smiling afterwards. My body aches, but I love the way I feel after a workout: I feel strong. It’s hard, but one of the things that keeps me coming back is the support I get from the other xfitters. Without their help I would easily lose hope in ever being able to do an unassisted pull up or handstand. At first I was a little surprised at the support- I mean crossfit is one of the most competitive sports/games in the world, and yet people are rooting for me to better? It’s an amazing feeling having that support. We’re all tired and sore after a workout, but we never fail to laugh and smile, and make sure to hold one another accountable for showing up to the next workout.

 

I love crossfit, it’s not my life, but it’s certainly a huge part of it. 

 
Leave a Reply

