Week 1 Paleo

After effects of paleo pancake

 

So, I apologize for not entertaining you sooner, but working 14 hours a day doesn’t leave much time for such activities.I officially applaud myself for operating daily on only 5 hours a night (something I’ve never had to do). But, anyways, this week was my first week of paleo, and as some of you may know, day 1 SUCKED! IT IS VERY HARD TO EAT REAL FOOD. My body has apparently gotten accustomed to the processes ways of this world, and I felt so sick to my stomach eating solely veggies, nuts, fruits, and meat. I felt lightheaded, nauseous, and very fatigued. It was not a very fun day. It also requires much planning to eat paleo and creativity. I think my roommate got a kick out of my 10 baggies full of snacks and food that i packed for my first day of work at Milton Hospital. It was quite challenging to eat every few hours, but I managed to do it. However, day 1 left me still feeling quite unsatisfied and hungry by the end of the day.

Day 2: More successful and less so at the same time. Day 2 was a ton easier- I felt less hungry (but still very hungry!) I’m not sure why these fiber filled foods and protein aren’t quite filling me up, and it’s frustrating as I feel like I’m eating 10X more than I ever have. I still am having some tummy troubles, but I didn’t feel lightheaded nor as tired AND I had less cravings. For those of you who know me, I HAVE TO HAVE MY DESSERT, practically after every meal, but I’m finding i’m totally content without dessert these days and am adjusting nicely.

Another thing I’ve noticed is that I am not an avid snacker, and I’m snacking constantly! It amazes me how hungry I’m getting. (let’s hope it’s that metabolism getting fired up, and not a lack of food at each meal).

Remember how I said with paleo it takes a lot of planning and creativity? Well, after chatting with my fellow crossfitters (who btw are racking up the points and kicking my butt at this challenge), I’ve discovered paleo pancakes! that’s right- PANCAKES! And they actually taste like pancakes, but better! So every night now before I go to bed, I’ve been making these paleo pancakes, which I highly suggest trying sometime. All it is is 1 egg, cinnamon, 1 mashed banana, blueberries, almond butter, and almond meal. So simple and delicious! This weekend I plan on trying out paleo bars and paleo muffins. I figure the more I can trick my mind into thinking I’m eating carbs, the better my body will behave. Next: Blueberry sweet potatoes: http://paleomg.com/blueberry-breakfast-stuffed-sweet-potatoes/

I’m truly excited to be learning all this paleo stuff, and I’m just hoping the fatigue eventually ends, and I am able to stop feeling hungry all of the time. I’m loving being part of a community that is so supportive, and my fingers are still crossed that I start seeing some changes with my energy levels, body fat content, and overall strength 🙂 It’s certainly tough, but I’m trying to be as best prepared as possible! I think the biggest struggle right now for me is time and lack of creativity with recipes. I really have to plan my meals ahead (because who wants to prepare a meal when they get home at 930pm at night??)…especially an elaborate one.

If you’re going to embark on a paleo journey, I highly suggest researching recipes ahead of time and seeing if you have time for this.

I am doing this not only for my health, but also to better my performance, see how I change through the process, and to really challenge myself. It’s not a diet to lose weight, but to gain muscle and get stronger.

That’s all for now but stay tuned to continually read about my struggles and how I’m doing!

Love,

The paleo princess

One thought on “Week 1 Paleo

Leave a Reply

